Channel Country

Covering one-sixth of Australia, the Lake Eyre Basin spans four states—Queensland, Northern Territory, New South Wales and South Australia. As one of the world’s largest internal drainage systems, this expansive, dry wilderness is the site of one of the planet’s most spectacular natural phenomena. Following periodic heavy rainfall, the three river systems comprising Lake Eyre Basin—Cooper Creek, Diamantina River and Georgina River—flood across thousands of miles, moving life-giving water from the country’s tropical north to its arid center. These rivers are known as “Channel Country,” a reference to the multiple channels these rivers have on vast, flat floodplains. These waters are vital for wildlife, particularly waterbirds that migrate from across the country to breed and feed. Maintaining the natural river flows of the Cooper Creek, Diamantina and Georgina rivers is essential for ensuring that the Channel Country habitat, and the wildlife that depend on it, is protected for the long-term. Source Channel Country | The Pew Charitable Trusts (

Share This